The development of artistic forging in Russia

Back
07.01.2020

Artistic forging in Russia has its own centuries-old history, archaeological discoveries prove that the ancestors of the Slavs knew how to process iron using fire a hundred years before our era.

The ability to smelt and produce popular items from it has always aroused great respect for foundry workers and forging makers from the population. Many considered them to be magicians and sorcerers, and special abilities were attributed to the gizmos they forged. Surprisingly, even cast iron castings were mistaken for a talisman.

In those days, blacksmithing was considered the most profitable and necessary, however, due to the lack of technologies available at the present time, hammers had to do all the work by hand, to determine the grade of steel and the degree of incandescence of the workpiece by color. During the manufacture of the product, they knocked out all impurities from the metal with mallets, and only after that they heated it red-hot over the fire. When it became flexible, they quickly gave the necessary shape, and the holes were pierced with a chisel and punch.

The first metalworking was intended for household use. She served as utensils and tools. Basically, knives, dishes, plows, plows, sickles, door locks, horseshoes, grabs. In the future, due to the constant danger of attacks, it was necessary to produce defensive and offensive weapons. From year to year, the skill developed, and the knowledge deepened and improved. New methods of melting in ground furnaces appeared, in which the fire was blown up by leather furs by the hands of workers, which made it possible to increase productivity. It was a laborious and very difficult process, but this is what made the blacksmiths stand out from the crowd and made them independent artisans.

Urban blacksmiths of the ancient Russian territories were revered as the most skilled craftsmen than village blacksmiths, who also owned locksmith and arms craft. And their cooking technique was more perfect, and the forges themselves, located on the outskirts of cities, are more fully equipped with a variety of tools and equipment. This helped to carry out the production of high quality and aesthetically pleasing, forging things with voids inside and using curly lining for complex punching.

The military theme was of no small importance. The armourers possessed exceptional virtuosity, making products with pinpoint precision, using complex methods and techniques. Beautiful designs and ornaments were used to decorate swords, sabers, daggers, axes, flails, clubs and other weapons and armor. Additionally, they were inlaid with precious stones and semi-precious stones, which indicated the high status of the owner. Archaeologists at the excavations found chain mail and shishak helmets, made of iron wedge-shaped strips and riveted together. Such an occupation required special professionalism. One of the most famous finds is the helmet of Yaroslav Vsevolodovich, made from a single piece in the 12th century, which gave it lightness and good strength characteristics.

In the 13th century, forged elements began to be actively used in architecture. This is evidenced by the roofing of copper, lead and tin, used in the construction of temples and churches. For example, a copper gilded sheet in the Vladimir Assumption Cathedral with the date 1340 indicated on it. Around the same period, the architects of Moscow and the Golden Ring discovered the convenience of such practical and decorative metal structures as gates, fences, lattices, interior decor, candlesticks and even furniture. The Russian style of forging was born.

Numerous crafts, which were forged in the Middle Ages, were able to preserve their appearance to this day and show a modern person the experience and dexterity of farriers of past centuries, and once again reminds of the strength and durability of metal products.

Thank you!

Our specialists will contact you shortly

Развитие художественной ковки на Руси

Вернуться назад
07.01.2020

Художественная ковка на Руси имеет свою многовековую историю, археологические открытия доказывают, что предки славян, умели обрабатывать железо с помощью огня за сто лет до нашей эры. Умение выплавлять и производить из него востребованные предметы всегда вызывало большое уважение к литейщикам и ковщикам со стороны населения. Многие считали их магами и колдунами, а вещицам выкованным ими приписывали особенные способности. Удивительно, но даже чугунные отливки принимали за оберег.

В те времена кузнечное дело считалось самым выгодным и нужным, однако, за неимением технологий доступных в нынешнее время молотобойцам приходилось делать всю работу вручную, по цвету определять сорт стали и степень накаливания заготовки. При изготовлении изделия они колотушками выбивали из металла все примеси, а только после этого нагревали на огне докрасна. Когда он становился гибким, быстро придавали необходимую форму, а зубилом и пробойником прошивали отверстия.

Первая металлообработка была предназначена для домашнего обихода. Она служила в качестве утвари и орудий труда. В основном, ножи, посуда, плуги, сохи, серпы, дверные замки, подковы, ухваты. В дальнейшем из-за постоянной опасности нападений потребовалось изготавливать защитное и наступательное вооружение. Из года в год мастерство развивалось, а знания углублялись и совершенствовались. Появились новые методики плавления в наземных печах, огонь в которых раздувался кожаными мехами руками рабочих, что позволило увеличить производительность. Это был трудоемкий и очень тяжелый процесс, но именно это и выделило кузнецов из общей массы и сделало их самостоятельными ремесленниками.

Городские кузнецы древнерусских территорий почитались наиболее искусными мастерами, нежели деревенские, которые также владели слесарным и оружейным ремеслом. Да и техника варки у них была совершеннее, а сами кузницы, расположенные на окраине городов, полнее оснащены разнообразным инструментом и оснасткой. Это помогало осуществлять производство качественно и эстетично, отковывать вещи с пустотами внутри и применять фигурные подкладки для сложной выколотки.

Немаловажное значение несла военная тематика. Мастера-оружейники обладали исключительной виртуозностью, выполняя изделия с ювелирной точностью, с применением непростых методов и способов. Красивые узоры и орнаменты украшали мечи, сабли, кинжалы, топоры, кистени, булавы и другое оружие и доспехи. Дополнительно их инкрустировали драгоценными камнями и самоцветами, что указывало на высокий статус владельца. Археологи на раскопках находили кольчуги и шлемы-шишаки, сделанные из железных клиновидных полос и склепанных между собой. Такое занятие требовало особого профессионализма. Одной из известнейших находок является шлем Ярослава Всеволодовича, изготовленный из цельного куска в 12 веке, что придало ему легкость и хорошие прочностные характеристики.

В 13 столетии кованые элементы начали активно использовать и в архитектуре. Об этом свидетельствуют кровля из меди, свинца и олова, использовавшаяся при строительстве храмов и церквей. К примеру, медный позолоченный лист во Владимирском Успенском Соборе с указанной на нем датой 1340 год. Примерно в этот же период зодчие Москвы и Золотого кольца раскрыли удобство таких практичных и декоративных металлоконструкций как ворота, ограды, решетки, интерьерный декор, подсвечники и даже мебель. Зародился русский стиль ковки.

Многочисленные поделки, которые выковали в средневековье, смогли сохранить свой вид до сегодняшнего дня и показать современному человеку опыт и сноровку ковалей прошлых веков, и еще раз напоминает о прочности и долговечности металлоизделий.

Спасибо!

В ближайшее время с вами свяжутся наши специалисты