Loft

Back
30.11.2019

The loft style originated in the United States in the forties of the twentieth century, when it was decided to move all the factories of New York outside the city and this idea would be quite successful, if not one, but in the center there were huge production areas empty. For a small rent, they were rented out to people of art, who, from free premises, equipped themselves with workshops for work and living, later the very furnishings of the buildings were not transformed by new renovations, but changed due to decoration and design solutions, developing into a new, democratic and absolutely free style. Such a stylistic innovation in the fifties was to the taste of the rich inhabitants of America, and later on the European part of the population. Thus, a whole culture was formed, going far beyond the meaning of the word loft, which is translated from English as attic.

The style is characterized by freedom and minimalism, there is no place for pretentiousness and excess, it shows how harmonious an interior can be with simple and laconic details. In spacious rooms with high ceilings and large windows, everything is kept to a minimum, the areas are separated by interior items such as metal shelving and whatnots. The spiral and flight staircase, as an attribute, is made entirely of metal, and less often combined with wood or glass. Here, a combination of incongruous, old brick walls, metal pipes, ventilation is mixed with new materials and modern decoration techniques, here vintage gets along well with the latest decor items.

The loft is saturated with metal. Forged massive and heavy objects with rivets are distinguished by their simplicity and practicality. There is no longer the usual filigree ornament, curls or floral patterns, on the contrary, straight geometric shapes, often already finished products such as pipes, iron corners, chains, everything that can be found among the discarded scrap metal. Steel items are combined with solid wood, huge slabs and glass, giving the items a special strength and brutality.

Much attention is paid to the arrangement of dominants and composition elements. Today, more and more such furniture is purchased for bars, restaurants, cafes and hotels, as well as for fashionable office spaces. A loft is a phenomenon that unites protest and freedom without borders, the gloss of a metropolis and the atmosphere of an industrial suburb, where there are no strict stylistic canons, but you can give free rein to your imagination by abandoning the rules. Here they give a second life to unnecessary and forgotten things thrown into scrap metal. A wonderful floor lamp or a creative hanger is made from the levers of a car, and a chain with gears from an old bike is reborn into a wall clock.

The loft came to Russia in the two thousandth, having passed a significant path of evolution and development before that. It has taken root in both commercial and residential interiors. Among the prominent representatives of this trend, popular buildings in Moscow are Artplay and Park Mira, and in St. Petersburg, the ArtMuse Museum of Contemporary Art.

Today the loft is at the peak of its popularity. This rather democratic style will appeal to owners of office space and housing.

Thank you!

Our specialists will contact you shortly

Лофт

Вернуться назад
30.11.2019

Стиль лофт зародился в США в сороковых годах двадцатого века, когда было принято решение перенести все фабричные предприятия Нью-Йорка за пределы города и эта идея вполне была бы успешной, если не одно, но, в центре остались пустовать огромное производственные площади. За небольшую арендную плату их сдавали людям искусства, которые из свободных помещений обустроили себе мастерские для работы и проживания, в дальнейшем сама обстановка зданий не преобразовывалось новым ремонтом, а менялась за счет декорирования и дизайнерских решений, перерастая в новый, демократичный и абсолютно свободный стиль. Такое стилистическое новшество в пятидесятые пришлось по вкусу богатым жителям Америки, а в дальнейшем и европейской части населения. Тем самым, сформировалась целая культура, выходящая далеко за значение слова loft, которое переводится с английского как чердак.

Для стиля характерна свобода и минимализм, здесь нет места вычурности и излишеству, он показывает насколько гармоничным может быть интерьер с простыми и лаконичными деталями. В просторных помещениях с высокими потолками и большими окнами все сведено к минимуму, зоны разделены предметами интерьера, такими как металлические стеллажи и этажерки. Винтовая и маршевая лестница, как атрибут, изготовлены целиком из металла, а реже комбинированы с деревом или стеклом. Здесь сочетание несочетаемого, старые кирпичные стены, металлические трубы, вентиляция перемешана с новыми материалами и современными приемами декорирования, здесь винтаж вполне уживается с новейшими предметами декора.

Лофт насыщен металлом. Кованые массивные и тяжелые предметы с заклепками, отличаются своей простотой и практичностью. Уже нет привычного нам филигранного орнамента, завитков или цветочных узоров, напротив, прямые геометрические формы, зачастую уже готовые изделия такие как трубы, железные уголки, цепи, все то, что можно найти среди выброшенного металлолома. Стальные предметы комбинируются с массивом дерева, огромными слэбами и стеклом, придавая изделиям особую силу и брутальность.

Большое внимание уделяется расстановке доминант и элементов композиции. Сегодня все чаще такую мебель приобретают для баров, ресторанов, кафе и гостиниц, а также для модных офисных помещений. Лофт — это явление, объединяющее протест и свободу без границ, глянец мегаполиса и атмосферу промышленного пригорода, где нет строгих стилистических канонов, а можно дать волю фантазии отказавшись от правил. Здесь дают вторую жизнь ненужным и забытым вещам, выброшенным на металлолом. Из рычагов автомобиля изготавливают прекрасный торшер или креативную вешалку, а цепь с шестеренками от старого байка перерождается в настенные часы.

В Россию лофт пришел в двухтысячных, пройдя перед этим значительный путь эволюции и развития. Он прижился в интерьерах как коммерческих, так и жилых помещений. Из ярких представителей направления популярными зданиями в Москве являются Artplay и «Парк Мира», а Санкт-Петербурге музей современного искусства АртМуза.

Сегодня лофт находится на пике популярности. Этот довольно демократичный стиль придется по вкусу обладателям офисных площадей и жилья.

Спасибо!

В ближайшее время с вами свяжутся наши специалисты