Neoclassicism

Back
30.11.2019

History of style Neoclassicism

Neoclassicism arose in the middle of the 18th century and was a kind of response to the Baroque and Rococo, reviving the classics in architecture. Like classicism, it draws inspiration from the architects of Ancient Rome and Greece, as well as the Renaissance, but at the same time carries fresh notes in itself. The main features are its elegance, lightness and straightforwardness, in which the emphasis is on the classical ancient order system and elements of Egypt. Unlike modernity, neoclassicism values

strict proportions,
minimalism in decorative decoration,
sophisticated colors, a kind of departure from conservatism.

France was one of the first to turn to this direction, many amazing structures were erected, such as the Pantheon and the Comedie-Francaise in Paris, the Facade of the Little Trianon in Versailles. In England, old forms were replaced by compositions in a modern interpretation, under the influence of ancient Greek and Roman architecture, the Church of St. Pancras in London was built, the front side of the Taylor Institute in Oxford.

In the United States, neoclassicism developed together with the young republic and the third president, Thomas Jefferson, who actively promoted it, considering the ancient Roman style as a model for administrative and state structures. The Capitol in Washington was the largest and most significant architectural site of that time.

In Russia, this style found a great response, especially in the construction of residential quarters and houses in St. Petersburg, where the Ethnographic Museum is an excellent example, as well as government buildings in many cities, such as the Administration Building of the Sverdlovsk Railway.

Artistic metal in the neoclassical era

During the development of neoclassicism, artistic forging acquired a new curl characteristic of it, which is more powerful and self-sufficient. Forged textured combs change to laurel wreaths, acanthus leaves, palmettes, as well as cast rosettes and embossed mini sculptures. Forged fences begin to be made not only rectangular, but also oval, in which the rows of spirals are built up one on top of the other, forming a more intense and massive pattern. The ornament of blacksmith products becomes very clear, maintaining a simple geometry and amplitude of thickness, in which bearing thick rods and thin lines are vividly combined, giving the design elegance and harmony. The interior features metal furniture and decor made of iron, copper and bronze. Bronze statuettes, floor lamps and mirror frames, candlesticks, chandeliers and candelabra were very popular.

Neoclassicism contains triumph and luxury, an example of splendor and refined taste, where objects make up an excellent ensemble and fill with an atmosphere of well-being and greatness.

Thank you!

Our specialists will contact you shortly

Неоклассицизм

Вернуться назад
30.11.2019

История стиля Неоклассицизм

Неоклассицизм возник в середине 18 века и был неким ответом барокко и рококо, возрождая классику в зодчестве. Как и классицизм он черпает вдохновение у зодчих Древнего Рима и Греции, а также эпохи Возрождения, но в тот же момент несет в себе свежие нотки. Главные признаки заключаются в его изящности, легкости и прямолинейности, в котором упор делается на классическую античную ордерную систему и элементы египтизма. В отличие от модерна, неоклассика ценит

  • строгие пропорции,
  • минимализм в декоративной отделке,
  • утонченную цветовую гамму, своеобразный уход от консерватизма.

Франция одна из первых, которая обратилась к этому направлению, было возведено немало удивительных сооружений, таких как Пантеон и Комеди-Франсез в Париже, Фасад малого Трианона в Версале. В Англии на смену старым формам пришли композиции в современной интерпретации, под влиянием древнегреческой и римской архитектуры были построены церковь Сент-Пэнкрас в Лондоне, парадная сторона института Тэйлора в Оксфорде.

В США неоклассика развивалась вместе с молодой республикой и третьим президентом Томасом Джефферсоном, который активно пропагандировал ее, считая древнеримскую стилистику образцом для административных и государственных построек. Капитолий в Вашингтоне явился самым крупным и значимым архитектурным объектом того времени.

В России этот стиль нашел большой отклик, особенно в строительстве жилых кварталов и домов Санкт-Петербурга, где прекрасным примером является Этнографический музей, а также казенных строениях во многих городах, как например Здание управления Свердловской железной дороги.

Художественный металл в эпоху неоклассицизма

Художественная ковка в период развития неоклассики приобрела новый характерный для него завиток, который более мощный и самодостаточный. Прокованые фактурные гребни меняются на лавровые венки, акантовые листья, пальметты, а также литые розетки и рельефные мини скульптуры. Кованые ограждения начинают изготавливать не только прямоугольными, но и овальными, в которых ряды спиралей наращиваются один на другой, образуя более насыщенный и массивный рисунок. Орнамент кузнечных изделий становится очень четким, сохраняя простую геометрию и амплитуду толщины, в котором ярко сочетаются несущие толстые прутья и тонкие линии, придавая конструкции изящество и гармоничность. В интерьере присутствуют металлические детали мебели и декора из железа, меди и бронзы. Очень популярны были бронзовые статуэтки, торшеры и рамы для зеркал, подсвечники, люстры и канделябры.

Неоклассицизм содержит в себе торжество и роскошь, образец великолепия и изысканного вкуса, где предметы составляют превосходный ансамбль и наполняют атмосферой благополучия и величия.

Спасибо!

В ближайшее время с вами свяжутся наши специалисты